What is Heirloom?

When I think of an heirloom craft I think of an item like Sharon Miller’s Wedding Ring Shawl. An item that will be used for a special occasion like a wedding or other religious ceremony. An item that will take countless hours and great skill to make.

I have made a few things that I think would fit in that category.

Although I never used these for special events I am particularly proud of them. The Shetland Lace Stole I designed myself. I have worn it a few times. The Latvian Mittens I have been too afraid to actually wear. I love just taking them out and looking at them.

When thinking about what other people have made that I value though, the criteria differs. One of my favorite things is a lap blanket crocheted by my maternal grandma for my paternal grandma when she was in a nursing home. My paternal grandma kept that blanket on her lap when she was in her wheelchair.

IMG_8976

My maternal grandma taught me how to crochet when I was 16. She was a good Wilma Crise 8-05instructor because she and I were lest frustrated with each other than my mother and I tended to be at that time. My aunt also helped with the instruction. They were both so encouraging to me throughout the process. Ironically both of them died within a few days of each other just a few years ago. My grandma was an avid crocheter up to the end her life. She never learned how to knit. Since she started me crocheting, I have never been without a knitting or crocheting project.

Grandma and parentsMy paternal grandma had a father who was formerly in the Amish church. She could both crochet and knit. She also enjoyed making quilts and taught me a lot about quilt-making. Arthritis in her hands kept her from doing fine crafts toward the end of her life. Here she is with the afghan my other grandma knitted for her.

What do you consider an heirloom? What are some of your most cherished possessions?

Leave a comment