Six Sox Knitalong

I am very excited to have a pattern featured back on the Six Sox Knitalong. This yahoo group releases 6 original sock patterns each year and the group members knit them together. I have had two other patterns used in this group in 2007, the Victorian Lace Socks, and in 2009, the Pothos Socks.

It was such a fun and rewarding experience that I decided to design another sock for the group. The April 2017 sock is my Weeds or Wishes design. It incorporates the dandelion lace design with two different options. The weeds option incorporates dandelions in the middle of neatly mowed ribs. The wishes option includes dandelion clocks in the middle of an open field. The pattern also includes a small and large size. With so many options, the pattern includes 7 pages of instructions.

IMG_8712

One of the wonderful things about this group is that patterns are always thoroughly test knit before their release. Since some test knitter initially had difficulty with the dandelion lace pattern, I have included a video tutorial to help knitters visualize the stitch.

The cuff includes 4 rounds of dandelions. Because the first dandelion round is at the top edge of the cuff, it gives the sock a fancy scalloped edge. Another fun feature of this IMG_8714pattern is a dandelion right on the big toe.

I often like ribbing in my socks because it makes them fit so snuggly while making them easy to take on and off. Yet the dandelions look so nice highlighted by a blank background in the wishes version of the sock. I can’t decide which version I like the best.

I used Malabrigo Sock yarn when I designed the pattern. I love the saturated color and the variations in the dye. My only concern is that the yarn is 100% wool. In the past some of my socks have had a rather short life when the yarn contained no nylon. I will wear them around and hope for the best.

Leave a comment